Similarities between Lee Sun Gyun and Kim Joo Hyuk

July 12, 2009 jeansdream
Tags: ,

For those who are reasonably familiar with the Korean drama world, these two names should not be unfamiliar.

Lee Sun Gyun‘s recently drama work including Triple (MBC, currently airing), My Sweet City (SBS, 2008), The 1st Shop of Coffee Prince (MBC, 2007), White Tower (MBC, 2007) – all very nice – I like them all.  He’s also productive in films ( I watched Our Town).  He got married recently to actress Jun Hye Jin – congrats again.

Kim Joo Hyuk‘s latest drama was Terroir (SBS, 2008).  The one before Terroir was Lovers in Prague (SBS, 2005).  I watched two of his movies – My Wife is Married, and I Don’t Need Love.  ( ** His girlfriend is actress Kim Ji Soo.  They are both under the same agency, Namoo Actors. ** This is no longer the case as announced by their agency on Oct 7:  the two are no longer in a lovers’ relationship started 6 years ago.  They remain as good friends.  I wish time mend their broken hearts.)

I find them similar in some qualities.

First, both of their voices are really nice.  Lee Sun Gyun has been crowned as “Mr. Voice” by many netizens.  I think Kim Joo Hyuk’s voice is also very charming and deep, and I think Kim Joo Hyuk’s voice is more to my likings.

Second, I think they look similar.  The photo of Kim Joo Hyuk in wiki d-addicts looks fuller and more pale than his looks in dramas and movies.  I’ve never seen his face this “round” and pale.  They are both handsome as a Korean – not cutey handsome, but manly handsome.  🙂

Third, they are both very good actors.

Fourth, their other half is a good actress. (Oct 8 update: unfortunately this statement is no longer true…)

Fifth, they are both 180 cm of height.

I think it would be fun to see them in a k-drama – perhaps as long-lost brothers – not as rivalry siblings – I hate to have to side with only one of them.   🙂

Entry Filed under: Korean / Korean drama

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Similarities between Lee &hellip  |  July 12, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    […] more: Similarities between Lee Sun Gyun and Kim Joo Hyuk Tags: calendar, cello, cello-music, coffee, friday-midnight, korean-korean-drama, […]

  • 2. Similarities between Lee &hellip  |  July 12, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    […] is the original post:  Similarities between Lee Sun Gyun and Kim Joo Hyuk « Jean's Dream […]

  • 3. Robin  |  July 13, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    As much as I appreciate both men as actors, I think Kim Joo Hyuk gets the nod (okay, don’t think, know/believe) as the better actor. He’s one of the best, able to be convincing in everything he does. His work in “Blue Swallow” is so intense it hurts, and the amount of emotion he can convey with just his eyes (think about his breaking up with Jun Doyeon’s character in “Lovers in Prague”) is amazing. But, bottom line, I look to both men to do great work and entertain me.

    • 4. jeansdream  |  July 13, 2009 at 11:10 pm

      I’ll try to catch Blue Swallow – thx for the recommendation.

  • 5. Hwang Jung Min and Shadow&hellip  |  September 5, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    […] was interested in seeing more work of both leads, Jun Do Yeon and Kim Joo Hyuk (whom I have briefly discussed before).  Then I came across this movie, “You Are My Sunshine” (2005, Korean Movie) […]

  • 6. irene  |  April 16, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    I like Kim Joo Hyuk the most. He got good looks good voice, and he acts naturally, you can really feel the emotions conveyed just by looking in his eyes. He is indeed very charming. However, I find it frustrating that he seldom make dramas. I like to see him more in a full length drama, i hope that his agency will cast him in another drama in the future.

    • 7. jeansdream  |  April 17, 2010 at 12:33 am

      HI irene,
      Kim Joo Hyuk is booked to do a drama, Story of Bang Ja (like Delightful Girl Chun Hyang, but the counter part version…), and another movie, Sleeping with The Enemy. These would come out soon. I also miss his work.

  • 8. joanneh  |  December 12, 2011 at 4:00 am

    hi Jean,

    Looking at the posts in your website, I am really late here..in appreciating Korean drama.

    We seem to be similar. Of late, since watching Pasta and re-watching Terroir, I like both the actors too. They exude a certain distinctive charm about the way they speak. Forget about those Hollywood’s Harrison Ford and even Brad Pitt, these Korean actors are so charming and absolutely enchanting.

    Way to go, Korean drama. Its been wonderful for me in my spare time to engage in such enjoyable delights. Re-watching them and appreciating the acting skills and storyline has been good too.

    btw, what is Kim Joo Hyuk’s latest drama?

    Will you recommend I try to get ” Lovers in Prague’? What other dramas should I catch of him?

    Thanks Jean

    • 9. jeansdream  |  December 15, 2011 at 1:29 am

      hi Joanneh,

      I am not sure if KJH has newer drama released after Terroir, but he has made some movies since then – namely Fighting Spirit, Bang-ja Chronicles and Couples. His older movies are also nice.

      He has also just recently hosted a comedy show Saturday Night Live Korea, and appeared in a variety show Running Man.

      He will be in MBC’s drama Soldier to be aired next year.

      If you do not know about other k-entertainment blog sites, I’m gonna to recommend you to the following for more news on KJH:
      http://www.dramabeans.com/tag/kim-joo-hyuk/

      Lovers in Praque is fun to watch. Other than KJH, you’ll find charming Jun Do Yeon, handsome Kim Min Joon, cool Ha Jung Woo and the young&adorable Jang Geun Suk.

      Have fun!

  • 10. http://www.soundbytes.org  |  March 11, 2013 at 1:54 am

    It is vital to become familiar with these remedies to make certain that you are able to maintain your alternatives open when searching for ways to improve your
    energy.Growth hormone supplements have turn out to
    be popular mostly among bodybuilders and athletes.
    Numerous#!!#individuals suffer from low energy levels because they are
    taking medications that can outcome in this situation.Fruits and vegetables can be great sources
    of power.The supplement targets the pituitary gland with all natural herbs
    and minerals, forcing it to create additional human growth hormone and slow down
    the aging process.

  • 11. Duane  |  April 19, 2013 at 6:49 pm

    It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post
    and if I could I want to suggest you few interesting things or advice.
    Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article.
    I want to read even more things about it!

  • 12. ace hardware ace rewards  |  April 20, 2013 at 10:25 pm

    Hey! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with
    us so I came to look it over. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking
    and will be tweeting this to my followers! Great blog and superb design.

  • 13. quickbooks download  |  April 22, 2013 at 4:35 am

    You ought to take part in a contest for one of the greatest sites on the
    internet. I will highly recommend this site!

  • 14. www.seoorganics.net  |  May 7, 2013 at 5:31 am

    I read this paragraph fully concerning the difference of most recent and preceding technologies,
    it’s amazing article.

  • 15. Http://klau.pixnet.net  |  May 8, 2013 at 4:16 pm

    I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the page layout of your website?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect
    with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two pictures.
    Maybe you could space it out better?


Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

July 2009
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts