My Cello Level: I Get It, Or I Don’t

September 20, 2009 jeansdream

Today I practiced cello to my heart’s content.   After the last class, I got some new songs:  1) Take My Life and Let It be  2) For Unto Us a Child is Born  (from Handel’s Messiah)  3) Pathetique Sonata Op. 13 2nd Movement Solos  (one would have heard of it; here’s a piano version) 4) Hatikvah

The first two songs are hymns which I am very familar with.  The third one is a Beethoven’s song; the last one – I had no clue what it sounded like.  So I searched on the internet for Hatikvah (or Ha Tikvah, which means The Hope in Hebrew).  Then I realized it’s the national anthem of Israel.  I listened to it once (a man performed this with his mouth making a trumpet sound).  Then I tried to play the hymns and Hatikvah.

I used to think if I play better if I know the melody line well.  Today I discovered that’s not always the case…. to my surprise.

Tone-wise, Hatikvah came out best.  It came out fine even the first attempt.

My conclusion of the day:  For my cello, either I get it, or I don’t.  I am not a true musician.

I was quite pleased with myself, until I saw this… 

Fingers hurt…. argh!!!

p.s. my lovely hubby applied some WD40 to the cello’s fine tuners – they’re not so tight anymore – sweeeeet.  🙂

Entry Filed under: Cello / Music

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. monica  |  October 18, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    Can you send information about cello partitures from Jay chou or similar or music popular in your country? Thank you Do you have something from Bird (girl and a Cello) Thank you


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts

 
