Lee Jun Ki – Not Just A Flower Boy

July 25, 2009 jeansdream
Tags: , , ,

Without watching his films or dramas, I’d think Lee Jun Ki (or Lee Joon Ki) is probably one of the Korean teen idols who sells cuteness, wackiness and youth.  When he smiles, his eyes become exactly like those eyes in the cartoons – they become two cashew nuts (like Kim Jung Eun‘s smiling eyes!)  I even think there’s certain “strangeness” in his look.  He occasionally looks like a fox (ah fans of Lee Jun Ki out there, please forgive me) – just personal opinion – I mean no harm at all.   I feel really strange that I see a guy with such association.  I didn’t and wouldn’t have any expectations of his acting skills.  At least that’s what I thought – initially.

Then I picked up Iljimae (SBS, 2008).  At that point I was in a sageuk (Korean historical) drama fever.  I  was watching Strongest Chil Woo (KBS2, 2008)  and  Hong Gil Dong ( KBS2, 2008) and I bumped into this drama by Lee Jun Ki.   Iljimae is a Korean’s Robin Hood story.  So I thought, “Han Bun Hae Boo Ja…  (Lemme give it a try…)”.

Then my impression on him changed.  In this drama, his character has two distinct personalities – a market thug by day and a masked hero fighting the corrupted by night.  I won’t go deep into the details of the story but his acting reminded myself once again that I should look at a person’s work before I give a score based on initial impression.  I love his role as Iljimae and I think he nailed it right.  Actually the cast gave me great surprises.  I especially love his adopted dad, Lee Moon Shik, in the drama.  Boy oh boy, when I looked up at the age of this “dad”, my jaws dropped.  He’s not old at all.  I have a lot of respect of him as an actor.   That’s my Chapter One of Lee Jun Ki.

Then I became curious on Lee.  I wanted to see if his Iljimae performance was a fluke or not – perhaps the director, the script and the role helped.  So I picked up his movie, Virgin Snow (2007, Korean/Japan Movie).  In this movie, he played a son who travelled (from Korea) to Japan as his father became a lecturer in pottory in Japan.  There he met a girl.  They developed from friends to lovers but he had to leave Japan for his grandmother who was very sick back home.   A simple love story.  A refreshing performance by both Lee and the actress.  I was impressed on Lee Jun Ki’s acting skills once again.  That’s Chapter Two.

Today, I watched The King and the Clown (2005 Korean movie) (Korean title’s literal translation is “The King’s Boy”).   This is a story about how Lee and his closest friend and partner who worked as country clowns entered the Palace and how they left the tyrant King.  A difficult subject to tell.  Some scenes are challenging to act.  Considering his professional acting life only started not too long ago (he debuted in 2004), I found a promising Lee Jun Ki then.  And I am glad he has improved a lot since then.

With Chapter Three ending with my nods again, my conclusion:  Lee Jun Ki, not just a flower boy!   He had his music concerts in Japan (check this out for details) just last week.  I saw some concert photos.  A new look (new hair style).  A hard working young fellow.  I hope you enjoy your work, and produce more good quality work for many of your hot fans, and this ajumma here watching from the back seat row, cheering for you silently. 

Mentor Entertainment – please treat Lee Jun Ki like your own son – be fair to him, nourish him to become better, don’t work him to the ground and don’t rip him off please.  He’s not just the material for an idol of a short entertaining lifespan.  Let’s build a win-win-win situation.  Cheers!

Is he the original singer of Flower’s Message (Hwa Shin) of Iljimae’s theme song, any one?

Entry Filed under: Korean / Korean drama

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Justinn  |  July 26, 2009 at 3:24 am

    Park Hyo Shin is the origin singer of HWA SHIN.
    (Singer of SNOWFLOWER)

    You can download it here:

    http://www.esnips.com/doc/e1e27f3d-7928-401b-960a-e0156048cacd/Iljimae-Hwa.Shin

    • 2. jeansdream  |  July 26, 2009 at 3:43 am

      Lovely – thanks Justinn. I wonder how the version sang by Lee Jun Ki sound like.

  • 3. nymphadora849  |  August 10, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    Just a fun fact:
    It was really Jun Ki who did the rope walking in The King’s Boy. He and the one who played as his closest friend both were taught how to walk on ropes. Cool, huh? 😀

    This actually made me love Jun Ki more. He’s such a great actor. I hope he reaches the peak of his career as an actor and dancer. He deserves his successes. He’s one of the most talented ones out there.

    Go Lee Jun Ki~!! ^^

    • 4. jeansdream  |  August 10, 2009 at 9:57 pm

      Look forward to Lee’s greater success – support him! Cheers.

  • 5. First Snow « Jean&#&hellip  |  November 10, 2009 at 1:24 am

    […] me into thinking of a Korean-Japanese collabourate film, 첫눈 Virgin Snow 初雪の恋 (2007) by Lee Jun Ki and Aoi Miyazaki (whom in my opinion looks a lot like Angelica Lee Sum-Kit (Mandarin: Li Sin Jie), […]


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
