My First Cello Lesson – Thanks to Beethoven Virus

December 17, 2008 jeansdream
Tags: , ,

Korean dramas really have quite a bit of influence on me.

Well, first, it motivates me to learn Korean.  Did I ever mention why I wanna learn Korean?  Thanks to some really lousy subbers!  Some DVD publishers concern about having their DVDs out in the market ASAP so distributers / retails will buy their products.  In rushing subtitles to be included with the minimum budget, some quality of these translations is so bad, that even someone like me (then) who doesn’t really know Korean notice the subtitles are really off.  Personally, I think it’s an insult to us the viewers, also to the drama production team and esp the script writer of the drama.  Bad translation just ruin the drama.  The thoughts are just lost in bad translation.  Hence, (ha!) I want to learn Korean so I don’t have to rely on subtitles to watch Korean dramas.  Who knows, one day, I may also be a contributor as a subber in the K-drama community.

Second, from K-dramas, my interests on Korean cuisine just grow.  Once a week?    Hee Hee.  Sometimes I experiment Korean dishes at home, like Kim Chi fried rice.

Then, thanks to this lovely drama Beethoven Virus, I started researching about cello.  I like strings for expressiveness.  And out of violin / viola / cello / bass, I like the sound range of cellos best.  Why procrascinate – I am already this old.  🙂   (Oh I love my hubby!!!)  So after visitng many music schools / stores in the neighbourhood, here I am, blogging about my first cello lesson.

Rewatching this Liber Tango – Beethoven Virus version scene, I actually had tears in my eyes.  Boy… I think I have a looooooong way to go, esp after listening to how bad I played in the first class.   Frustrated?  A-Ni (meaning No).  I just know I have to put in a lot of work to pull the bow so it produces certain weight and timbre.  And I have known it all along that it’s not easy.  Today it’s just the reality meeting the imagination.  Motivated tears.  Good tears.  I even finished my notes for the first class.  Gosh, if I were this diligent @ university…  ah I better not go there.  😛

Jean, fighting!!!

Entry Filed under: Cello / Music,Korean / Korean drama

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. urbangeek08  |  December 17, 2008 at 6:21 am

    I love watching Korean dramas. I would love to learn how to play cello.

  • 2. gottagopractice  |  December 17, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    How exciting! Happy cello-ing, and nice to see you in the Cello Blogosphere.

  • 3. jeansdream  |  December 17, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    To urbangeek08: feel free to leave comments about the K-dramas you’ve watched. Always happy to exchange views!

    To gottagopractice: thx for introducing me to your blog!

  • 4. urbangeek08  |  January 3, 2009 at 7:06 am

    I have watched Full House and 1% of Anything. I am into the romance dramas. It just melts my heart.

    • 5. jeansdream  |  January 3, 2009 at 9:46 pm

      Hi urbangeek08: I have also watched Full House and it’s my first encounterance of Rain (Bi), Song Hye Kyo, and second of Kim Sung Soo (first was Bad Love). To see how Song opened Bi and his family’s heart up was nice. How’d you find 1% of Anything? From the synopsis, it seems a sweet drama. Do you only prefer romance of happy ending?

  • 6. urbangeek08  |  January 4, 2009 at 8:02 am

    I have watched Glass Slipper which also has romance but a sad ending. I love full house the soundtrack is also good as well.

  • 7. jeansdream  |  January 4, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    Hi urbangeek08: I have not watched Glass Slippers but hey, it has So Ji Sup in it and that would do. 🙂

    I think I will start a post on my top 10 K-d OST, and perhaps another one on my top 10 K-d, top 10 K-d actors / actresses etc.

  • 8. urbangeek08  |  January 18, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    that is cool.

  • 9. e2wen~*  |  June 30, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    Was surfing the net for some news on BV version of Lbertango and ended up here. I’m happy to know somewhere else on this planet, someone helped me fulfilled my dreams. I love cello best among the strings too. But I don’t have the chance to learn it just yet. Hopefuly, in future. In the mean time, Jean fighting! (:

    • 10. jeansdream  |  July 1, 2009 at 12:32 am

      Dear e2wen~*,
      Hope you’ll join the club soon! Fighting! 🙂

  • 11. Park Yong Ha OR Kim Myung&hellip  |  July 21, 2009 at 1:19 am

    […] watched Beethoven Virus.  You know its impact on me, right?  I am excited to see Kim Myung Min.  He has done a marvelous job and Kang […]

  • 12. about teacher schooling programs  |  August 1, 2013 at 11:30 pm

    Here is a fact that most parents missed out, you have probably already heard about Teaching Study
    training and education solutions. Now come a flurry of elite, smaller-scale properties
    led by the 85-room Bulgari Hotel 171 Knightsbridge;
    doubles from $180 in South Kensington, and $105 at the White House,
    Albany Street, near Regent’s Park. Are TIPS good investments now? Where these are installed in buildings and houses. You should also work hard to keep them from solidifying. If you happen to an engineer or electrician, or if a trailer can be burrowed.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
