Korean 101 – Telegraphic Speech

November 4, 2008 jeansdream

I want to learn Korean (the language) enough so I can watch Korean dramas without relying only on subtitles –  a new dream of mine.

I bought a self-taught book and have been working on it when I have time.

Hubby and I went to pick up a friend at the airport the past weekend.  While waiting, I noticed a young guy holding up a sign with 3 big Korean characters.  That’s the name of someone he’s about to pick up.  Probably someone whom he had never met before?…  Then I got all excited!  I tried to read these 3 characters.  And I was quite pleased that I actually could read 2 out of 3 characters.  Wow!

It’s nice to know that I haven’t spent my time (and money) for nothing.  And this sudden quiz…  I got at least 66.6%.  Well, the one character I wasn’t completely sure – I wasn’t sure about the promounciation of the vowel and the end sound.  So if there would be partial marks for this character, I would have another 11.1% and that would make it 77.7% – it’s like a B grade @ university.

Glad to know I am making progress!

When I studied child psychology, I came across a phase when little kids would be able to utter 2 or 3 words (mostly verbs, nouns, and negation (the big NO word)) but there’s no proper grammer (no articles, conjunctions etc) applied to the speech.  E.g.  a girl may utter “want juice” when she meant “I want some juice now”.  Only the most important words are expressed, and the reader / listener will have to figure out the rest.  This resembles how people do telegrams when each word costs and thus the sender would compose an unambigous message using the least number of words.  I think my Korean is now about to enter the telegraphic speech phase.  I just need to go through more K-dramas!!

Welcome, Jean, back to the learning table!  Argh – my head aches a little!  🙂

Entry Filed under: Dreams,Korean / Korean drama

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kempton  |  November 8, 2008 at 5:59 am

    Understanding K-dramas is a great excuse to learn Korean. I guess anyway is to have Korean friends and eat Korean food. 🙂

    Have fun.

  • 2. jean  |  March 16, 2009 at 11:09 am

    hi.. were the same jean.. i really want to learn korean characters and their language..
    you know what i’ve been searching on the internet about hangul..and i found out its easy to learn on how to write a korean character but it’s hard to read..

    • 3. jeansdream  |  March 16, 2009 at 2:45 pm

      Hello jean, 🙂

      I agree with you – some vowels have very subtle differences. I used to come across an internet site that has the pronounciation of each alphabet (consonant and vowel) of Korean hangul, but I think that site is bugged and I got a virus warning in my PC after visiting that site, so I can’t refer you to that site.

      I bought a self-taught book for that matter. It comes with an audio CD and the CD contains conversations / exercises in the book, but it doesn’t read the individual consonants / vowels, tho the book tries to explain how to read each referencing other words.

      If you’ve come across any nice site or useful self-taught book, please let me know!

      Cheers.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Recent Posts

 
