Stinky Chinese Herbal Medicine – Encore

December 5, 2007 jeansdream

Well.  What can I say.  Last year about the same time like now, I wrote a post about stinky Chinese herbal medicine that cured my painful cough.  Oh well…  guess what.  Right…  … … The cold has paid me a visit (hope it’s not annual)!!  I had to visit the Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) store and had a session with the TCM doctor.   I had a bad cold and this time, the cough wasn’t as serious as last year’s.

First thing after the pulse reading, the doctor said I was “hot inside but cold outside”…  hee hee.   That’s what I felt what my trouble was…  I had too much deep fried and chinese flaky pastries and too much garlic and sesame recently I think which these things are considered “hot”, and then I caught this cold.  The mixed condition is tough to treat as now my body has both “hot” and “cold” defects so the types of medicines used must be carefully balanced.

Having the experience of doing homemade “fu cha” from last time, I’ve decided to pay extra to have the store made the “fu cha” so the house wouldn’t stink.  I just had my first of the 3-day “fu cha” adventure (2 doses a day) last night.  I had to say the “fu cha” sucked big time (and I was so proud of myself I didn’t throw up even without haw flakes!!), but it worked.  I could feel my body welcoming the effect of the drink.  At least, my throat wasn’t in constant pain like the night before, and my sneezes were greatly improving.

Let’s see how long this time takes me… the doctor did say I probably will have to visit him one more time.  Will see!

Entry Filed under: Getting to know each other

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kempton  |  December 6, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    Regardless of the “hot” or “cold” inside or out. I just wish you a really speedy recovery.

    Sleep a lot and dream nice dreams.

    Take care.

  • 2. simon  |  December 7, 2007 at 5:03 pm

    Hi Jean,

    It is great that the fu cha works quickly with your throat. Please do pay a second visit to your TCM doctor even you feel 99% recovered.

    You should fix the 1% balance and perhaps the TCM doctor would add new ingredients to help strengthen your body.

    We have some 6 years ginseng preserved with pure honey (newly brought from Korea). It contents no other ingredients like the ordinary preserved dry ones which need to be cooked.
    It may be easily cut to slices for immediate serving like preserved fruit by all ages including kids. Could you check if this is OK with you?

    With love,

    Simon


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts

 
