Those Purply Stems

May 16, 2007 jeansdream

That was so gross.

My back, my right forearm / palm, two legs were so painful.   I said I wouldn’t do the rest of the “gold digging” the next day, but I did!  After all the hard work, how could I stand a white furball popping up its head with a cunning face against my innocent, perfect all-green lawn!!  And today I did more yard work as well – 2 more hours.   Both hubby and I discovered a way to climb stairs in a less painful way – we moved sideways.

One wicked thing…  when I closed my eyes, I saw these dandelions! xyzzzyyxx!!!   The leaves, the ring-shape, and the purply stems – at each stem it was either a bud or flower attached.  These purply stems actually grew very near the ground – almost just 2 mm above the ground.  That made them difficult to get rid of!

And a note about these daedelion flowers – I once just digged two out and left them on the patio tiles.   They had a couple of yellow flowers at that time.  In a very short period of time, these yellow flowers all became the wicked white furballs (squished).  What a survival scheme!  I thought I got rid of them by removing them from the ground.  But if you don’t bag them right away, they turn the pretty yellow flowers into lethal furballs for spreading rightaway – they accelerate the “suicide speed”!

Nightmare!

Entry Filed under: Getting to know each other

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kempton  |  May 16, 2007 at 4:57 am

    Have you thought of eating them? They are actually editable.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dandelions#Uses

    If you just want to kill them, I think super hot steam does the trick without toxic chemical. I forgot what TV program I saw this. Mind you, how did they get the hot steam? May be just hot water?? Hmmm.

  • 2. Fred  |  May 21, 2007 at 7:55 pm

    Hi Jean! Thanks for visiting Silicon Island. I know we had some DNS issues for a while, but standoutjobs.com should be running just fine now. Please do let me know what you think! Take care, Fred.

  • 3. jeansdream  |  May 22, 2007 at 10:11 pm

    Hi Fred! Yes the site is good now. It’s a refreshing way and it’s definitely helpful to hear the hiring side speak first hand. It would be interesting to see how to get into the more conservative employers. All the best.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
