Back to the Uncivilized…

March 27, 2007 jeansdream

Can you imagine not having tap water for 30 minutes – while you’re preparing dinner?  Well, I didn’t need to use my imagination… as I actually experienced this today!

 Our water softener machine was acting up since DST (Daylight Saving Time) kicked in.  Today it actually went on “strike” while I was preparing dinner.  I wanted to rinse the wok – tho we only used it last night.  The water came out very cloudy and “bubbly”.  I dared not use this.  Wow, this was really inconvenient!  I couldn’t use the tap water.   I had 4 tomatoes, and a cucumber.  (So glad I prepared the meat yesterday!!)  2 rice bowls and 2 spoons.  1.5 cup of rice.  What should I do…  borrow some water from the neighbour… hm… suddenly felt so uncivilized!

Then my hubby opened a 1.5L bottled water.  I was suddenly water-conscious.  I used about 1/6 of a bottle for washing the rice.  Then I poured that water into a large container.  Then I used another 1/6 for doing a second round.  Again poured that into the container.  Then enough water to add for rice cooking.  Then I wetted a paper towel to wiping my tomatoes and cucumber.  Then got another paper towel to repeat the cleaning.    Now the wok (which had been “contaminated” by the cloudy water).  I used the rice water – poured half that in, rinsed that out and repeated again.  Next I used the water from the bottle to wet another towel and wiped the wok dry; did the dishes and spoons the same way.  🙂

Lo and behold…  at a blink, 4/5 of the bottle was already gone!!  But remember this was the result of being water-conscious.  Then I started to wonder how much water I used (wasted) every meal / cleaning etc… 

Tonight I will observe this – I’ll be faster in doing shower. 🙂

Entry Filed under: Getting to know each other

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. kempton  |  March 27, 2007 at 4:26 am

    Brushing teeth is another big water waster of mine. Or washing any cooking or eating utensils. Yeah, you only find these things out when the dare reliable and good water stop flowing.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
