“Fu Cha” (Stinky Bitter Chinese Herbal Cocktail)

December 20, 2006 jeansdream

Well.  What can I say.  I was hoping that the magical chuan bei would put the coughs off completely.  And I guess I waited for too long.  So the chuan bei only stayed magical, not miraculous.  Hence, after wrestling with my mind for 5 seconds (what were I thinking…  well, “do I want a sick Christmas”, “do I want my condition to go worse”, “I may need to have ‘fu cha'”, intentionally and unwillingly, my hubby drove me to visit the Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) store again. Just this time, I had a session with the TCM doctor for personal diagnostics.

The process of the diagnosis was comparable:  both western and TCM doctors asked about your healthy history, your family history and drug history.  They both asked about your current symptons.  They check your temperature.  Ask you to stick out the tougue and say “ah” for them.  🙂   Then further down the process, a western doctor will use a stethoscope to listen to your chests and back, and a blood pressure arm belt to get your blook pressure, but a TCM doctor will use his fingers to read your pulse at the inside wrists (both hands) – aka pulse reading. Fascinating and deep theory.

I just had my first of the 3-day “fu cha” adventure (2 doses a day)… acute bitterness, a little sharp sour taste… oh I don’t want to talk about it as it may upset my stomach and I may throw up… I’ll update you later on the results tho.

Good thing about meat: I can have turkey. (YAY!!!) Fish, pork, beef, chicken – well the doctor didn’t ask me to stay away from these. 🙂 But no mutton / duck tho. Avoid shrimp and crab.

Fruit wise – apple is the only fruit I can have.

Oh, no wine, no honey lemon, no green tea (for my condition). Nothing from the frig (or freezer!). Ah, forgot to ask the doctor if I can have hot dessert!! But my hubby said, “if in doubt, skip it.” …. … okeee … …

Entry Filed under: Getting to know each other

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kempton  |  December 20, 2006 at 3:44 am

    This sounds promising. Hope you get well soon.

  • 2. Simon  |  December 21, 2006 at 4:31 am

    Good morning!

    Hope you had a qiete sleep, without any dream last night. Agree with your TCM doctor that things from frig are no good for you, especially in the morning.

    Could you bear in mind to avoid ice-cold (as well as boiling-hot) even after recovery. Our stomach doesn’t like the rapid temp changes or you could get punished later.

  • 3. Stinky Chinese Herbal Med&hellip  |  December 5, 2007 at 4:27 pm

    […] 5, 2007 jeansdream Well.  What can I say.  Last year about the same time like now, I wrote a post about stinky Chinese herbal medicine that cured my painful cough.  Oh well…  […]


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts

 
