Magical Traditional Chinese Medicine

December 15, 2006 jeansdream

If you have been reading this blog site a while, you may have noticed that I’ve been sick for – officially – 3 weeks.  Well for a cold / cough, that’s long.  Yes I realize that too…  And just the past weekend, I went to a doctor, and he told me that it’s a virus and he only prescribed me a strong cough&cold syrup.  Well, then yesterday, I went into a Chinese Medicine store, wanted to buy a Luo Han Guo to make some soup with apples and pears, some almonds and some white cloud ears  (hee hee – you don’t know what I am talking about?… that’s OK… ).  The lady working at the counter was helping some clients so she asked me to wait a sec.

OK.  Then she heard me coughing and she asked me how long was this like…  “About 2 and a half weeks… 3 week?….”  “Oh no, that’s way too long!  Have you seen a doctor?”  she said.  “Yes I did, over the weekend, and the doctor said I had a virus.”  “No, I meant a Chinese doctor; the way you’re coughing, “western doctors” can’t fix you properly!”  Yup, that’s how it started.

So last night, we made the Chinese medicine dose.  (Yes this was done by ourselves using the double-boil method (double-boil means to have the pan inside a larger pan containing a bit of water)).  I admit that I am again impressed by how these things work.  I know Chinese medicine usually takes time to kick in but I am really amazed this morning – (I didn’t take the suppressant syrup last night and) I didn’t really cough last night and this morning – with just one dose.  I will have one more today, and another one tomorrow.  If I am still not cured, I am asked to go back and look at a doctor who practiced Chinese Medicine.

For your reference, these were the ingridients of ths dose:

  • 2 small apples, peeled and cored, diced 
  • maces (one third of a tael) of Fritillaria (or Chuan Bei Mu) – grinded to powder (weight after powdered would be much less)
  • a finger-tip of dried bitter almonds (north almonds) – crushed in to small pieces
  • a piece of aged, dried tangerine peel
  • a cup of water

Double-boil for 1.5 hours

Note this is a heavy dose; don’t use without proper consultation.

And, oh, no pears when you are having cold-cough (as supposed to heat-cough). Also, no carrots, tu fu, beef, chicken. And the usual: no deep-fried, pan-fried, baked, toasted, cold stuff, sweets etc.

Allowed fruit: apple.

Allowed veggie: broccoli, cauliflower, choy sum, gui lan.

Entry Filed under: Getting to know each other

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kempton  |  December 17, 2006 at 7:12 am

    Wishing you a speedy recovery. Hope you are feeling better some more already. Proper Chinese medicines are getting more and more respected these days as more proper medical studies are done to verify the effectiveness of the Chinese medicine.

    Take care and get well soon.

  • 2. Simon  |  December 19, 2006 at 7:28 am

    Oh, no, 3 wks! Chinese doctors say “cough” is the troublesome illness than any others. Also advise all patients to check with doctors at the very beginning.

    Hope the heavy dose fixed the cough quickly.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts

 
