Back to school

November 17, 2006 jeansdream

Last night I had a recurring dream.

I went back to my high (secondary) school in Hong Kong with the current age.  It’s the first day of school and I was admitted into Class Form 6A (see HK education system).   Students in the “A” class would be taking Arts subjects like Literature / Economics / History / Geography.  I was lingering outside the IS Lab, waiting for the assembly ring tone to go off.  I saw my grade school pal, Cathy.  I waved to her, and she waved back smiling.  She still looked the same after so many years!  Then I went on searching around for the class line.  Hm… where’s the line… where…  where…  “Oh I see the sign (6A)!”  Then I got into the line for 6A.  I was thinking – I already had a B. Sc. degree from U of T; I  should be able to catch up in the new class… (I was trying to convince myself that I could do it.)  Then someone asked me about U of T and I went on explaining that it’s about 25 minutes from Highway 401 to the downtown campus. (??…)   Then the head mistress came to me and shook hands with me.  “Ahuh.”  I felt recognized!  Tho the degree I had was a science degree, having one helped starting in the “A” class.

Entry Filed under: Dreams

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kempton  |  November 17, 2006 at 3:40 am

    Wow, a secondary school that is 105 years old. This is OLD …

    By “IS Lab”, do you mean “Integrated Science Lab”?

    The wacky HK education system forcing students arbitrary into Arts or Sciences streams way too early than necessary.

  • 2. jeansdream  |  November 18, 2006 at 2:48 am

    Yes, a very well established school. And yes, that’s the abbrev. for I.S. – you got it.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

November 2006
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Most Recent Posts

 
