Dream Retention

November 7, 2006 jeansdream

I am mildly disappointed. I actually had a fun / interesting dream last night. This morning I had a brief “awakening” moment – that’s before my alarm clock went off, but my brain turned conscious and was still on bed and I had the ability to think rationally – you know what I mean, right? I told myself, “hey, I got a really interesting dream to post today; that dream was quite fun; wow wow. Oh let’s rehearse the reciting of the dream… this… that… then that…”. I thought I got the most significant parts of the dream. Then I fell asleep again.

Then this morning on the road to work, I found that I’ve forgetten most parts! I still remembered I would had a meeting with the Accountant tomorrow early afternoon (which was a Tuesday, and it actually matched the reality (coincidence?)), and he asked if we’d had lunch. Then I asked why it wasn’t on Wed when my mom would go to work (she doesn’t work tuesdays and the two characters don’t know each other in reality). Then I answered myself that it was due to the urgent situation that the stupid government broke their promise before election that they would not touch income trust and now they will not give income trust any tax shelter. It took many words to explain this here, but in the dream, this reason was recognized like I recalled a “symbol”, a “color” in terms of reaction time needed, like at the speed of a snap of the fingers. In my dreams, this type of recognition usually happened very quickly. Like a dragon fly hoping and bouncing on the water – hit and go.

I am sure I had a lot more in the dream, but I can’t remember any more (than the above) now, especially after a long day at work.

Perhaps if I were a professional dream blogger, I should have written my dream down during my brief awakening moments. I am sure this post would be more interesting to read. But, hey, I rather have more sleep. :p

Does dream retention have anything to do with memory retention? Would rehearing dream recitals (in long run) improve ability of memorization? I have a feeling that it may hurt in long run as the rehearsal disturbs the rest cycle. If you don’t rest well (your brain in this case), you won’t have good brain power when you are not resting.

Better get ready for bed. Ciao. Thanks for understanding my excuse not to write better or more interesting blog. Hee Hee.

Entry Filed under: Dreams

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kempton  |  November 9, 2006 at 2:53 am

    Don’t have any answers to your questions. But your post is still interesting to read. It is like Michael Moore’s Film – Roger & Me
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0098213/

    Moore never quite got to Roger Smith for most of the film.

  • 2. King Crab Legs « Je&hellip  |  November 11, 2006 at 5:28 pm

    […] Dave and Daph are my current and ex-colleague. I had no clue why I would see them in my dreams… Sometimes I see weird combinations of people in my dreams. Like the previously blogged accountant & mom. I used to see “Ebo” and my mom in the same dream scene – I think they were trying to dice me up with a Chinese chopper or something. :O […]


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

November 2006
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Most Recent Posts

 
